Ashgabat, Turkmenistan

Ashgabat, Turkmenistan
 source: visiualirian.ru

The name of the Turkmenistan`s capital and the largest city of the republic is very unusual, it comes from the Arabic word “ashkhabat”, which means "City of Love". It received this name in 1881 from the settlement Ashkhabad, in which place was the military fortification with the ancient fortress. As a relatively young city, Ashgabat, gained its face in the middle of the XXth century, as the destroying earthquake of October 6, 1948, overnight razed the entire city, took lives of thousands of people. In the place of the ruins for a few years emerged a beautiful new city, where, unfortunately, did not remain historical monuments. But today Ashgabat as if was born again, and it is impossible to imagine that in the place of white marble palaces and majestic buildings once were smoldering heap of rubble. Now there are luxury hotels, offices of ministries and departments, park areas and motorways, which on the background of snow-capped mountains look like fairy castles. Unique oriental flavor of the city give sky-rocket minarets of mosques, impressive unusual architecture of the comfortable residential high-rises. Ashgabat turned into biggest city of the country and became even more beautiful and fresher than ever. It has become the industrial centre of the republic. There are universities, institutes, research institutions, theaters, museums, clubs.

Location of Ashgabat

The city is located in the south of Turkmenistan, in Akhal oasis on the edge of the Kara-Kum desert, in a picturesque valley at the foot of the Kopetdag ridge. From the south are the mountains of Kopetdag, from the north is the Karakum Desert. Altitude above sea level - 214-240 m.

Climate in Ashgabat

The climate is continental, arid; with hot and dry summer period, average temperature varies from 12 to17 C. The coldest month is January, with the average temperature of + 4 C. Summer is unusually dry and hot. The maximum average temperature observed in July is 28 degrees.

 Population of Ashgabat

In the second half of XXth century, the city`s population grew rapidly and by 2006 amounted to 660 thousand people. Turkmens made up more than 77% of the population, the remaining 23% are ethnic groups such as the Russian, Armenians, Ukrainians, Azerbaijanis, in general more than 100 nationalities. Official language is Turkmen, referring to the Turkic group of languages. Russian is also widespread in Ashhabad. Sunni Islam is the predominant religion.

 Architecture

Ashgabat, Turkmenistan
 

The town – planning ensemble, created in the center of the capital includes Arch of Neutrality, with a golden statue of Turkmenbashi on the top, the Presidential Palace, the building of the Mejlis, the complex of the Academy of Sciences, the Academic Mollanepes Drama Theater, Bayram Khan monument, Lenin Square, Mekan Palace, the building of National Library, the Music College and Conservatory, the Orthodox Church of Alexander Nevsky (the XIXth century), Ertogrulgazy Mosque, with 4 minarets and the huge dome, and Ashgabat Circus.
 In general, the city`s architecture is characterized by total use of white marble in the design of monuments and buildings. You can take Turkmenistan tours to explore the country’s tourist sties.

Industry

Economics of the city is mainly represented by industry, financial institutions and a broad trade network. There are more than 43 large industrial facilities, 128 medium and more than 1,700 small industrial facilities on the territory of Ashgabat and in its suburbs. GDP of Ashgabat in 2008, according to some estimates, amounted to about 9 bln. dollars. 

History of Ashgabat

There is a widespread interpretation of the word Ashgabat as the “city of love” from Arab “eshg” - love and “abad” - city. However, some scientists put forward another interpretation of the word Ashkabad According to this version the name of the city derives from the Persian word "Ashk" and is the name of the Parthian king of the Arsakid dynasty (Arshakids). Among other things the place where the capital of Turkmenistan, Ashgabat city, is located, is just a few kilometers from the former residence of Parthian kings of Nyssa. 

More...

Ashgabat - Sights of Interest

Туры в Узбекистан – Групповые и Индивидуальные Туры в Узбекистане

Ашхабад, Туркменистан

Ашхабад, Туркменистан
 источник: visiualirian.ru

Название у столицы Туркменистана (Туркмении) и самого большого города республики весьма необычное, происходит оно от арабского слова ashkhabat, что в переводе означает “Город любви”. Получил он это название в 1881 г от поселения Асхабад на месте, которого располагалось военное укрепление с древней крепостью. Будучи относительно молодым городом, Ашхабад обрел свое лицо в середине XX столетия, так как трагедия 6 октября 1948 года, буквально за одну ночь стерла с лица земли весь город, унеся жизни тысячей жителей. На месте руин через несколько лет вырос прекрасный новый город, в котором, к сожалению, не осталось исторических памятников. Но Ашхабад словно родился заново, и сегодня невозможно представить, что на месте беломраморных дворцовых ансамблей и величественных сооружений когда - то дымились груды развалин. Теперь здесь располагаются фешенебельные отели, офисы министерств и ведомств, парковые зоны и автобаны на фоне заснеженных гор смотрятся как волшебные замки. Неповторимый восточный колорит городу придают устремленные ввысь минареты мечетей, впечатляет оригинальная архитектура жилых комфортабельных высоток. Ашхабад превратился в самый крупный город республики и стал еще краше и свежее прежнего. Здесь активно развита промышленность. Имеются университеты, институты, научно-исследовательские учреждения, театры, музеи, клубы.

Расположение

Город  расположен на юге Туркмении, в Ахалском оазисе на краю пустыни Кара-Кум, в живописной долине у подножья хребта Копетдага. С юга — горы Копетдаг, с севера — пустыня Каракумы. Высота над уровнем моря — 214—240 м.

Климат Ашхабада

Климат резко континентальный, засушливый, с жарким и сухим летним периодом. Средняя температура варьируется от 12 до17 градусов Цельсия. Наиболее прохладный месяц – январь, средняя температура которого составляет + 4°С. Лето необычайно сухое и жаркое. Максимальная средняя температура воздуха наблюдается в июле + 28 градусов.

Население

Во второй половине XX в. население города стремительно росло и к 2006 г. составило 660 тыс. человек. Туркмены составляют более 77 % населения, остальные 23% приходятся на такие этнические группы, как русские, армяне, украинцы, азербайджанцы в целом более 100 национальностей. Государственный язык — туркменский, относящийся к тюркской группе. В Ашгабаде широко распространен русский. Большинство населения исповедует ислам суннитского толка.

Архитектура Ашхабада

Ашхабад, Туркменистан
 

В градостроительный ансамбль, созданный в центре столицы входят Арка Нейтралитета, с золотой статуей Туркменбаши на вершине, Президентский дворец, здание Меджлиса, комплекс Академии наук, Академический театр драмы им. Молланепеса, монумент Байрам-Хан, площадь Ленина, дворец Мекан, здание Национальной библиотеки, Музыкальное училище и Консерваторию, православную церковь Александра Невского (XIX в), мечеть Эртогрулгазы с 4 минаретами и огромным куполом, а также ашхабадский цирк.

В целом архитектура города характеризуется тотальным применением белого мрамора при оформлении монументов и зданий. Отсюда и ставший популярным слоган: «Белый город – Ашхабад».

Промышленность

Экономика Ашхабада главным образом представлена промышленностью, финансовыми структурами и широкой торговой сетью. На территории Ашхабада и в его пригородах находятся более 43 крупных промышленных объектов, 128 средних и более 1,700 мелких промышленных объектов. Суммарный внутренний валовый продукт Ашхабада в 2008 году, по некоторым оценкам, составил около 9 млдр. долларов США.

История Ашхабада

Широко распространена трактовка слова Ашхабад как эшг — любовь и абад — населённый, благоустроенный. Однако некоторыми ученными была выдвинута версия о том, что слово Ашкабад происходит от персидского стола «Ашк» и является именем одного из парфянских царей династии Арсакидов (Аршакидов). Помимо прочего место, на котором располагается столица Туркменистана, город Ашхабад, находится всего в нескольких километрах от бывшей резиденции парфянских царей Ниссы.

Далее...

Достопримечательности Ашхабада